Lost Houses: Bingham Canyon

These images represent residential and commercial buildings that used to exist on Main Street in Bingham Canyon.  As the ethnically diverse neighborhoods in Bingham Canyon were created because of the mining industry, so they also disappeared because of the inevitable expansion of the open pit copper mine.

181 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

181 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

284 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936-1940. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

336 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

336 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

367 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

367 Main Street, Bingham Canyon, circa 1936. Tax Appraisal Photographs.

This entry was posted in Lost Houses, Utah history and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lost Houses: Bingham Canyon

  1. Anonymous says:

    My grandparents also lived in Bingham Canyon around 1914-1917. My mother was born there. Her father was a miner. I have tried to trace his name (Giovanni Gazzola) but have had no luck.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Everything right now is in the planning stages, bench work,scale,materials used,and a lot of research. To give you an idea of level of realism that I would like to achieve, search online for Chuck Doan on fotki. I have thousand’s of picture’s and map’s, and have imported the terrain from the 1950’s into the Train Simulator. I’m thinking this will be a 20 year project. If your interested in the photo’s that have inspired me to pursue this venture let me know.

  3. Ken, I am a fellow modeler and would love to see your diorama.

  4. Ken Gustaveson says:

    I’m Modeling Bingham Canyon and surrounding area’s in N scale and V scale. I’ve been Combing the internet since 2006, finally the Mother Lode. Also I’m interested in making an interactive map. I will be setting up an appt , but I wish that I could just bulk download everything.

  5. slcoarchives says:

    Thanks for your interest, JR. Our Bingham Canyon photo collection is large and goes back to the 1930s. I hope that you do come and spend some time with us!

  6. JR says:

    My grandparents lived in Bingham Canyon, so these are neat to see! I may need to plan a research day to see if I can find a photo of the house they actually lived in.

Leave a Reply

