Please Welcome:

Salt Lake County Records Management and Archives recently hired a new manager, Maren Slaugh.  Maren came to us from the Sandy Police Department, where she had been the Assistant Records Manager for 2 years.  Her career with Sandy Police spanned a total of 10 years, during which she served as the Privacy and Security Coordinator (TAC) in the Records Division for 7 years prior to becoming a supervisor.  She worked closely with the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) to maintain State standards regarding criminal records, and also with the FBI for crime reporting statistics.  As one of the Records supervisors, she helped the Sandy Police Department implement a new records management system called Versadex.

To introduce our readers to Maren, a short Q and A session was held:

How did you become interested in the field of Records Management?

Maren: I applied for the job in Sandy 10 years ago and fell in love with Records Management when I became the Privacy and Security Coordinator (TAC). In the course of my work, I met with people from different law enforcement and state agencies that also had the same desire to keep accurate and transparent records and information.

What are the issues in RM that you feel are most important to focus on?

Maren: Among many issues, being able to get a handle on maintaining the integrity of electronic records, and disaster recovery related to both analog and digital records.

How are you adapting to life at the County Records Center? Any likes or dislikes yet?

Maren: After 10 years of having to wear a uniform, I can now break out and wear what I want.  Except that now I don’t know what to wear….

What are some of your interests outside of work that you would like to share with us?

Maren: In my free time I enjoy volunteering for the Center for the Arts, and for the last 8 years I have been very involved with the Sundance Film Festival.  As a Food Network addict, I love to cook (although in deference to my waistline, I give most of the desserts that I create away to friends).

During my career with the police, I served on the Child Abduction Response Team, and I have been extremely fortunate to be able to continue to be a member of this team.

In the short time that I have been at the Archives, I have already caught the genealogy bug and now spends hours conducting research in to my ancestry.

Salt Lake County Records Manager Maren Slaugh

Salt Lake County Records Manager Maren Slaugh

Maren started with Records Management and Archives on June 15.  Welcome, Maren!

This entry was posted in Archives staff, Records Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

